FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Six Players From Manipur Selected

The most awaited FIFA World Cup will take place in Qatar from November 21 to December 18, 2022. It will be the first World Cup ever held in the Arab world and the first Muslim-majority country. Six football players have been selected from the tiny state Manipur to be part of the FIFA World Cup and the AFC Asian Cup China qualifiers at Doha, Qatar. 

The selected players are Moirangthem Dheeraj Singh (goalkeeper), Konsham Chinglensana Singh (defender), Udanta Singh Kumam (midfielder), Wangjam Suresh Singh (midfielder), Mohammad Yasir (midfielder), and Bipin Singh (midfielder). They are among the 28 members of India’s football squad for the forthcoming matches in the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 and AFC Asian Cup China 2023 qualifiers to be played from June 03 onwards.

Also Read || Rise of the Indian Football Factory

Team India will play against Qatar on June 03, Bangladesh on June 07, and Afghanistan on June 15. All three matches will be playing at the Jassim Bin Hamad Stadium in Doha. All the 28 members, the Indian football squad, left for Doha on May 12, and the formidable team captain Sunil Chhetri will lead the India team after recovering from the COVID-19.

Goalkeepers: Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, .
Defenders: Akash Mishra, Rahul Bheke, Narender Gehlot, Chinglensana Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan,Pritam Kotal, Subhashish Bose.

Midfilders: Udanta Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Liston Colaco, Rowllin Borges, Glan Martins, Anirudh Thapa, Pronoy Halder, Suresh Singh, Lalengmawia Ralte, Abdul Sahal, Yasir Mohammad, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Bipin Singh, Ashique Kuruniyan.
Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Ishan Pandita, Manvir Singh.

AIFF (All India Football Federation) controls all the management of the Indian Football Team. History knows India’s football team had never participated in any of the FIFA World Cup. If the Indian Football Team qualifies in the upcoming FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar, a new chapter in the history of Indian Football will be opened.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top